My first entry to my blog

Well my friends, this will be my attempt to communicate with the world via a blog. I am learning as I go, so please be patient and if you know a thing or two about blogging, feel free to offer up some free advice. If you make any attempt to charge me, expect me to ask for extended terms. Perhaps a 75 year zero interest plan with a balloon payment due at maturity. Oh, and I will ask that the balance due  be forgiven at the event of my untimely death prior to the 75 year maturity. How does that sound? Great, then let’s get started!

So why a blog may be your first question of me I suppose. Well, I suppose it is out of frustration at what I see happening politically in this country, which BTW is why I chose the “Shiny City On A Hill” title for my blog. You see my friends I am a firm believer in the idea that if you provide the ordinary person with freedom, security and a chance to succeed, they can do wonderful and even miraculous things for themselves, their families, and even many fellow Americans. That was the firm belief of the late great Ronald Reagan who so famously used the Shiny City On A Hill image in his speeches. Here are his words:

I’ve spoken of the shining city all my political life, but I don’t know if I ever quite communicated what I saw when I said it. But in my mind it was a tall proud city built on rocks stronger than oceans, wind-swept, God-blessed, and teeming with people of all kinds living in harmony and peace, a city with free ports that hummed with commerce and creativity, and if there had to be city walls, the walls had doors and the doors were open to anyone with the will and the heart to get here. That’s how I saw it and see it still.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment